Oregon State University
Washington State University
University of Idaho
Research Reports
PNW Tillage Handbook
Direct Seed Conference
Direct Seed  Newsletters
Grower Case Studies
E-Mail / Web List Servers
Research Reports

2010 Research Report
2009 Research Report
2008 Research Report
2007 Research Report
2006 New Projects
2006 Research Report
2005 New Projects
2005 Research Report
2004 New Projects
2004 Research Report
2003 New Projects
2003 Research Report
2002 New Projects
2002 Research Report
2001 New Projects
2001 Research Report
2000 Research Report
1999 Research Report
1998 Research Report

Wind Erosion / Air Quality Project
On-Farm Testing
Coming Events
Resource Links
Search Our Site
Direct Seed Association


STEEP Funding, Objectives and Committees


Funded by USDA - Cooperative Research, Extension and Education Service during FY1996 through FY2001 at approximately $500,000/year


1. Determine the impact of farming practices and systems on soil, water and air quality

2. Develop new technologies and increase efficiency of inputs that improve profitability of conservation farming systems.

3. Assess the profitability of conservation farming systems, document growers' progress in implementing conservation farming practices, and identify effective and profitable conservation policies.

4. Accelerate grower evaluation and adaptation of profitable conservation farming systems.

Committees (effective January 2001)

Grower Advisory Committee

Garry Esser Idaho Grain Producers Association (2004)
Lee Hawley, Idaho Association of Soil Conservation Districts (2004)
Chris Rauch, Oregon Soil and Water Conservation District (2004)
Jack Osterlund, Oregon Wheat Growers League (2002)
Wade Troutman, Washington Association of Soil Conservation Districts (2003)
Don Wellsandt, Washington Association of Wheat Growers (2002)
Russ Zenner, USA Dry Pea and Lentil Council (2004)
(Term ends at the January meeting in the year indicated in parenthesis)

Technical Coordinating Committee

David Bezdicek, STEEP Co-Chair (WSU)
Donn Thill, STEEP Co-Chair (UI)
Don Wysocki , STEEP Co-Chair (OSU)
John Hammel (UI) - Moscow
Russ Karow; (OSU) - Corvallis
Dennis Roe (USDA-NRCS) - Pullman
Bill Schillinger (WSU) Ritzville
Steve Petrie (OSU) - Pendleton
Dale Wilkins (USDA-ARS)- Pendleton
Roger Veseth (UI/WSU - Extension) - Moscow

Administrative Committee

Dr. Antoinette Betschart ARS Western Regional Research Center Director, Albany, CA
Michael Burke, Assoc. Director, OSU Agric. Experiment Station, Corvallis, OR
Ralph Cavalieri, Assoc. Director, WSU Agricultural Research Center, Pullman, WA
Richard Heimsch, Director, UI Agricultural Experiment Station, Moscow, ID
Lyla Houglum, Director, OSU Extended Education and Extension Service, Corvallis, OR
Leonard Jordan, State Conservationist, USDA-NRCS, Spokane, WA
John Hammel, Associate Dean, Academic Programs, CALS, UI, Moscow, ID
Michael Tate, Director, WSU Cooperative Extension, Pullman, WA


Contact us: Hans Kok, (208)885-5971 | Accessibility | Copyright | Policies | WebStats | STEEP Acknowledgement
Hans Kok, WSU/UI Extension Conservation Tillage Specialist, UI Ag Science 231, PO Box 442339, Moscow, ID 83844 USA
Redesigned by Leila Styer, CAHE Computer Resource Unit; Maintained by Debbie Marsh, Dept. of Crop & Soil Sciences, WSU